Department of Sport
  • Print

Championship success celebrated at Sporting Excellence Awards

University of Nottingham's top student sports stars have been recognised in front of an audience of hundreds at the annual Sporting Excellence Awards

Students receiving awards at the glittering awards ceremony included triple gold medallists Haoyu Liu from the University of Nottingham Table Tennis club and downhill mountain biker Jono Jones.

Hosted at Nottingham Conference centre on Tuesday evening following the official opening of the new David Ross Sports Village, the annual Sporting Excellence Awards recognise the achievements of student athletes who have excelled at national University championship level.

After the inaugural Hall of Fame inductions of Olympic greats Deng Yaping and Tim Brabants, the spotlight turned onto the current cohort of elite student athletes, with over 20 British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) champions picking up an award.

Deng Yaping scholar, Haoyu Liu, received her award in front of her scholarship benefactor and Chinese athlete of the 20th century Deng Yaping. Haoyu told the audience what a special moment it was for her after winning three BUCS table tennis golds this year;

“I’m so honoured to be receiving this Sporting Excellence Award and I would like to thank Dr Deng for her continued support to help me realise my academic and sporting dreams. Training here at the University of Nottingham with the table tennis facilities we have, has really allowed me to push my game forwards and I’m happy I could win the championships for Nottingham. ”

BUCS champion, Jono Jones, fresh off a third consecutive national Downhill Mountain Biking title, even asked David Ross for an addition to the new facility. Interviewed after receiving his award, Jono joked;

“The new sports village is an unbelievable facility and to have all the fitness and strength and conditioning facilities on our doorstep is incredible. I do spend a lot of time travelling around the country, often to Wales to practise, so if there’s any chance of adding a mountain in there, I’d be very grateful!”

As well as all the 2016/17 BUCS champions, league success was also highlighted with 28 titles picked up by UoN team this year, plus BUCS Trophy winners and BUCS Championship runners up.

Dan Tilley, Director of Sport, concluded the evening with a presentation to the Vice Chancellor Sir David Greenaway;

“I feel incredibly privileged today to be part of University of Nottingham Sport. To recognise the achievements of our alumni then to follow with so many successes from our current students is truly inspirational.”

“We’re fortunate to have a strong and proud sporting community here at University of Nottingham and I would like to thank Sir David Greenaway for his unfaltering commitment, support and advice to enable us to deliver sport to all our students, no matter their level of play.”

Sporting Excellence Awardees:

  • Maartje Otten – BUCS Individual K1 Champion - Female (Canoe Slalom)
  • Patrick Marriott – BUCS Individual C1 Champion – Male (Canoe WWR)
  • Sam Ibbotson, Patrick Marriott and Amy Hollick - BUCS Mixed Team Champions (Canoe Slalom)
  • Jono Atkinson, Sam Moss and Eoin Teague – BUCS Open Team Champions (Canoe Slalom)
  • Liu Haoyu – BUCS Individual Champion – Female (Table Tennis)
  • Daniel Reed - BUCS Individual Champion – Male (Table Tennis)
  • Adam Harrison / Daniel Reed – BUCS Individual Champions – Men’s Doubles (Table Tennis)
  • Daniel Reed / Liu Haoyu - BUCS Individual Champions – Mixed Doubles (Table Tennis)
  • Hana Ramadan - BUCS Individual Champion - Female (Squash)
  • Li Lian Yang - BUCS Individual Champion - Female (Badminton)
  • Tom Barratt - BUCS Individual Champion - Male (Pool 9 Ball)
  • Matthew Clarke - BUCS Individual Road Race Champion - Male (Cycling)
  • Alexandra De Prendergast – BUCS Individual Champion (Jiu Jitsu)
  • Bobbi Goldring, Georgina Marshall, Rachel Woolley and Kaitlin Mapplethorpe – BUCS Women’s Team Champions (Clay Pigeon Shooting)
  • Jono Jones – BUCS Champion (Downhill Mountain Biking)
  • Men’s Lightweight Coxless 4s – BUCS Head Champions (Rowing)
  • Women’s Lightweight Coxless 4s – BUCS Head Champions (Rowing)
  • Women’s Lightweight Quadruple Sculls – BUCS Regatta Champions (Rowing)
  • Womens’s Squash (1)– BUCS Team Champions
  • Women’s Table Tennis (1) - BUCS Team Champions
  • Men’s Table Tennis (1) - BUCS Team Champions
  • Men’s Hockey (1) – Promotion to National League
  • National Badminton League Squad – AJ Bell National Badminton League Champions

View all the photos from the Sporting Excellence Award on the UoN Sport Flickr gallery.


For more information about performance sport at the University of Nottingham please visit or contact Alex Perry, Assistant Director of Sport at

Posted on Friday 19th May 2017

University of Nottingham Sport

David Ross Sports Village
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 (0)115 74 87000